Uncategorized

Why I’m a Feminist 

A lot of people ask me why I’m a feminist. Why I’m not a populist or a humanist or an egalitarian or some other made up word. I’m a feminist, because I believe in the social, economic and political equality of the genders. That’s what it means. I’m not a man hater. I’m not a lesbian (not that there would be any problem with that). I’m not a witch. I am against sexism. I’m a feminist because I believe there’s a lot of inequality within our society still that’s just accepted as normal. I’m a feminist because women in so many countries in the world are denied education. I’m a feminist because In many countries women’s genitals are mutilated as punishment for living. I am a feminist because there are so many issues affecting my gender. I’m a feminist because when I was raped, I was told it was my fault for not fighting back enough. I’m a feminist because 1 in 4 women are raped during their time at university. Im a feminist because still in most countries women are not allowed to make decisions about their own bodies. I am a feminist because still, only women get paid leave from work with a new baby. I am a feminist because between the ages of 5 and 6 girls change from believing they can do anything to thinking that only boys can do some things. I’m a feminist because so many parts of our society pits women against eachother. I’m a feminist because my current government has a record number of female MPs for the first time this year at 36%. 63% of the people making laws about me are not my gender. I’m a feminist because my ex boyfriend once said that women don’t belong on the front line or even in the army – except as cooks or doctors. I am a feminist because i believe there are no such thing as gender specific jobs – except a penis model. I believe there’s something fundermentally sexist about our society and I enjoy spending my time calling it out and fighting against it. I’m a feminist because I care about people and I want change for the better. I campaign for mental health awareness, and invisible illness awareness, it would be bizarre if I didn’t campaign for womens rights too. I believe black lives matter. I believe love is love. I fully support all of the lgbtq+ community and everything they stand for. I also believe that I can never speak on behalf of other people’s experiences and I don’t want others speaking on behalf of mine. I do not know what it is like to be a black woman in America. And a gay man will not know what it’s like to be a woman. We’re all different, and while we may all experience discrimination, we don’t necessarily understand that specific discrimination. But we can support each others causes and encourage those who do know, to raise their voices and speak out about them. We’re so privileged that we live in a time where we can post things online and there’s actually a chance people will hear you. There’s enough of us common folk that we can make change happen! In reality there’s way too many reasons that I’m a feminist for me to list but I talk a lot about casual sexism on social media and to be honest, I was fed up of being told I’m sexist. 

Thank you for reading this rant,

Love Sophie

3 thoughts on “Why I’m a Feminist 

    1. Of course it’s not. Women are the disadvantaged and therefore it seeks to pull women up to the same level as men. It’s about women. Therefore the word is too. Black lives matter isn’t racist. And feminism isn’t sexist.

      Like

Leave a Reply

